Sunday, September 28, 2008

hmmmm

I guess my initial idea of not racing on Saturday would have been the right one. Hardwood 8 hour is the last big endurance race in Ontario and usually a fun way to finish out the season. This year I just was blah. I'd been planning around this race but after the excitement of the Dirty Enduro my body had been feeling a little off. Had I not already spent the money I would have been on the sidelines right from the start.

I decided to ride the full and just cruise the race. Ya me cruise, hmmm, you know I'm not into it when. I got to the race later than planned. My mind right now is on the new house not the bike. I manged to get to the line with 5 minutes before start time. No warm up, barely got all my bottles ready etc. 3,2,1 go. I normally sit in the lead pack, today I backed down on the start and cruised.

Things felt pretty good, I liked the course and the conditions. Finished the first lap and had to stop for a minute. I never carry a seat bag on my bike but because I didn't have a support person in the pits this time I wanted to get my tools etc out of my jersey to make room for a second bottle etc. Ya well now I know why I don't carry the seat bag. It came loose and was rattling. It was secure but I knew that it would annoy the crap out of me hearing it rattle for 8 hours. Tools end up up in the jersey.

Next lap the bike starts clunking in the drive train under load. Frozen link. A couple more minutes lost. If I was in full race mood I would have began riding mad at this point. For me that's actually a good motivator. Today I was like ok, whatever. Finally had a few laps with no stops. That's when the rain came, so did the traffic.

Had it continued to pour I think I would have been more inclined to keep going. This course was very rideable in the rain. Well at least I thought so. Continued to grunt along but continued to slow. Coming into my 6th lap I just didn't feel like being out there. My quads were tired already and climbing hurt like I was on the 8 th hour not the 3rd. I'm done. I quit in 5th place. Had I known I may have pushed for a bit longer. Probably not. Lee quit a lap later with alot of the same complaints that I had. He gave up 3rd. The beer was great.

I knew I was pushing it a bit at even attempting to ride the 8 hour let alone race it. It's been a long season, my legs are tired. Time for a break.

There was a couple things at this race that didn't help my mind. I think this was the most congested race I have ever done. There were not alot of places to pass and there were way to many people on the course for it's lay out. They really should have capped the numbers. I was not the only one that noticed this.

One other thing that was interesting. On my third or fourth lap I came through transition, tapped my chip and started to jog towards the Solo lane. Like I always do I called out heads up solo coming through. A good warning for people that could be crossing in front. Makes sense right. I had a race organizer physically stop me and say wait as he let team racers cross in front of me to put their bikes on the rack. Excuse me???? Then was told that I need to slow down. Am I not in a race???

Same thing again, I was not the only one that this happened too. The point of having a solo lane is so they can get back on their bikes quickly, Right?? There are not that many of us coming through and it take 3 second for us to pass this section where people cross over. Now why have a solo lane in the first place if you are going to stop us and make us wait. The top guys all run through transition because 10 seconds a lap lost by walking it over 15 laps equals 2.5 minutes. Wow could that be the difference of 1st and 2nd place. Almost!!! Maybe something for them to think about, move the solo lane away from the traffic, makes sense right? there was lots of room on the other side of the racks for us to go to and it wouldn't have interfered with anyone.


Alright I'm done my complaining. As for riding for me, I will do Race the Night next weekend. I'll be using the singlespeed and having fun playing. I'll also be at some cross races. I think I'm at the point now that anything over an hour now is to long. At least for the next little while. It's time for playing.

More later, right now it's house dreaming.

Friday, September 26, 2008

moving in all directions

The last couple days have been a bit of a whirlwind. My body is feeling better. I rode a couple times this week including a trail ride on the NRS. It's been a while since I was on it but it's like that comfy old slippery that just feels right when you put it on. The Blue XC Carbon is now a single speed. It has yet to be tested. That could be tomorrow.

I am going to do the Hardwood 8 hour. I was registered and payed for it, why the hell not. Amongst all the problems at the Dirty Enduro I still have to remember that it was supposed to be a training race. Now I have yet to decide at what intensity I will ride tomorrow. Also what bike. I'm bringing both the full and the SS. A few of the guys have all ready been taunting me to do it on the SS. Maybe. I'll decide in the morning when I go to put the race plate on.

Now going in the other direction. I think I will be moving. Not that far but moving no doubt. Walked into a home on Wednesday and fell in love. The last two days have been crazy. Needless to say there will be a for sale sign in my front yard sometime next week and an offer put in within the next 24 hours. The timing for all of this is perfect with racing coming to an end for 2008. This has been on my mind for a little while now and everything just seem to fall into place.

I'll have a race report up probably on Sunday and I will have some updates on new sponsors for 2009. Things are coming together, lets just see if I can pedal my ass around a race course tomorrow at the front of the pack.

Need to finish packing, pictures and updates soon enough!!!

Tuesday, September 23, 2008

Revenge!!!??????

I want to say thanks to everyone for the concerned emails. I am fine, well as fine as I was before last Saturday. I'm taking another day or so off the bike before I decide on this weekend.

Now what is the revenge part. Well since my hardtail basically raped me, could have bought me diner and a few drinks first! I thought I would take advantage of it myself. By stripping it!! Not completely. I'm one part short at this time but the Blue is now a singlespeed. Dave was out of stock on tensioners. I am pretty excited to play on it once finished. What better way than to stomp the crap out of pedals. pun intended.



I'll do any final races on my NRS. I figure I better let my lower end have a bit of enjoyment after last weekends abuse. Oh and save it for cross.

It's sponsorship time also. Things have be coming in already. Total Body is back again taking care of all my body aches and pains. Dave and Georgian Cycle is taking care of me also and has already helped with the next sponsor. Got a great phone call yesterday. Of course that was followed with a couple papers to sign. So what am I going to be riding?

This times 2



It's funny that I'm back to where I started a couple years ago. Dave put me on a couple NRS's a couple years back and I still have one because I love the bike so much. Well now it's the next step, Anthem X1, 4 inch travel, after last weekends abuse I almost want to race xc on a downhill bike.

I have another new sponsor for 2009 that I will introduce in the next couple weeks. This is something that I'm very excited about and hopefully will make a huge improvement for me.

Still undecided about the 8 hour this weekend. Will spin out the legs tomorrow and Thursday and decide then.

Sunday, September 21, 2008

Paul's Dirty Enduro.

Paul's Dirty Enduro report. Let's just say things did not go as planned. I'm currently sitting in the waiting room of Petebrough General Hospital. Will get to the conclusion soon enough.

The road trip down was nice. Crashed at Ben Dawson's Mom's on Friday night which meant about a 45 minute drive to the event in the morning. Perfect.




Heather had limited me to the 60 km loop since this was supposed to be a ramp for the 8 hour next weekend. This meant I didn't start till 11am. The 100km racers were off at 8am. Ben has won this 3 years in a row and was pretty pumped to do it again. Ran into a few other buddy's also. Craig from Big Ring Racing was going to be playing on his single speed. So was my buddy Matt Wynen. Matt and I have battled it out many a times at some 8 hour races.

Craig at his best!!!

Ben lead the 100 km from start to finish. Followed by Zac Wheeler on a single speed about 20 minutes behind at the end of the day.

I stated typing this about 5 pm just for time frames. Now lets start with my fun. Had a good warm up, legs felt pretty good. Staged up at the front. A good group in the 60km field. Probably 60-70, hard to tell. After attendance was taken, made me feel like I was in school again, they did a very quick count down. Go. I went pretty hard off the start. I always like being in the front 4-5 for the half k or so before settling in. That is exactly where I was. Tim Carlton caught me pretty quick like I expected him to. I didn't expect to keep up with him for the first 2 hours but hopefully start pulling people back in in the last 20 km.

I really need to do this race again in the future. Talk about singletrack. Oh have I mentioned the climbing? of course what goes up gets to come down. Now as much as the singletrack was fun, things were extremely bumpy. Ganaraska forest is is obviously a man made forest with lots of replanting. Ya you know row planting bumps that are just of rhythm of a 26 inch frame build so lots of chatter to the body. This is where my problems began.

Hit the first feed zone feeling pretty good. I had two bottles so my plan was to top up at the last feed area. At this point I was running in the top 5 of my division and probably 8th overall. This was about an hour in. I'd pulled in 2 riders just after this point for the overall position. Still in my rhythm.

The next hour things were still going good. Sorta. I could feel a bit of tightness beginning to develop below my stomach. Well I timed it right and dropped a chain. Pee break. Sorry I know over share but it does become important. The pain went away for the moment. The next 20 minutes things started to change. I kinda knew this feeling and it's not a good feeling. Kept in my rhythm but I found the the chatter bumps were starting to hurt more and more. Not just bumpy course sore but someone stabbing me in the gut type pain. My abs became tighter and tighter and I was starting to have a hard time climbing. I'm not talking about sore legs pushing a hard gear up a climb problem, this became to the point that I was in my granny
I was fighting to keep my heart rate down. It was peaking on the easiest things. Then came the technical singletrack and stuff that I would normally be smoking through and I was stopping to take some strain off. This is also where the mind starting thinking alot. Oh did I mention that people started going by my like I wasn't even moving. That was because I wasn't. I was back in 20 plus
by this time and i kept feeling worst.

This is the same problem I had at the 9 hour. I couldn't drink or eat and I was hunched over. Flash back to the 2 litres of fluids i brought up after the race. The stuff my body was not absorbing. My thoughts today, make yourself puke. Tried for a few minutes with no success. Get on the bike and pedal. Things kept getting worst. I was praying for the last feed zone. Surprisingly I was still sorta happy. Hit the feed and asked the fastest way out. I'm done. About 3km down a fire road and I was back in the chalet area. I was still gurgling alot but had some gas come out in different directions, another over share.

Of course I still have the thought that the 8 hour is next weekend. Smart, stop riding recovery and play hard next weekend. All those thoughts changed about an hour after I was thinking this. Hanging with a few of the boys that had just come in I started to feel crappy again. I also had an urge. I won't share this to much but lets just say that there was blood with something that there shouldn't be with.

Came out of the porta pottie of death, got dizzy, laid down, first person I saw told them to get me first aid. Next thing I know I'm on a gurney being rolled towards the St' Johns Ambulance. Some test later and they are organizing Ben's brother-in-law to drive me to where I sit now. I've been here for 2 hours, had some blood taken. I'm really glad I had my laptop in the car. I would have probably gone crazy. No updates yet. I'm starving and thirsty. I haven't eaten since 10am. I'm still having some cramping, not like earlier but enough that I'm even concerned.

6pm
So here is where I'm at. My season is done, at least for the moment. The 8 hour is out, the Enduro championships are probably out also. Race the night? Not sure yet.

What do I think has caused this? I really think it might be caused by the bike. The hardtail is sorta forgiving in most conditions. Carbon is sweet BUT! I have been thinking about the courses and where the problems were at and how long it took to happen. Mansfield was tough but all the bumpy stuff was pretty much stood on. Both 24 hours were pretty smooth, the ocups to short to hurt anything but lungs and legs. Mountainview. Bumpy and physical, this race was extremely bumpy. What does this mean I should have pulled out the full suspension.


I've made a few phone calls and sit patiently, watching Off Road to Athens. unfortunately no wireless. More updates later.

8pm
blood work done. sitting and waiting. kinda sorta patiently. Lets just say that I have watched Off Road to Athens once, all the extras and ready to start it again.

10 pm
Just came from cat scan. I didn't even know I had a cat in me to scan.

10:45 pm
All results are back, I'm free to go. Basically it was what I thought. My bike abused me. Had a good doctor that was in to cycling and explained a few things to me. Very relieved, where can I get some food? He gave me the ok to continue racing. No permanent damage.

11 pm
heading home, I need to sleep in my own bed. I still need food. Ok this is the only thing open at the time and probably not the best thing to eat but I'm starving. McDonald's drive thru. BLAH!!! 12 hours without food and close to the same amount of time without fluids I don't care what it is I'm eating.

1 pm
Home

Sunday Morning
Eating and drinking is the agenda for the day. I'm taking it easy today, not sure about the 8 hour yet. I'm going to get the full suspension ready. It's been a while since I've been on the NRS. My time commitments for Blue are done. I'm not making any decisions about the rest of the season for a couple days. Lot's of play time left.

A huge thank you to the Dawson family for getting me over to the hospital and checking in on me. Same to the St. John's Ambulance guys.

Time to eat again.

Wednesday, September 17, 2008

season slowing? Nope

Holidays equals rest? Nope, only more facial hair. A romp in Copeland forest today had me working the legs. I'm not sure who worked harder, me or the Molly Monster. I know that she hates hill repeats.

I'll be heading down to Paul's Dirty Enduro with Mr. Dawson. I'll get to play cheerleader for a couple hours since I'm only playing on the 60km course this weekend. We don't start until 11 while the 100km riders start at 8am. Ben has won this race the last few years and plans on continuing to do so this year. I really would have loved to race the full course. 100km, one lap all singletrack. Ya that's the words I used also. The 60 km is sounding just as fun. Last years winner was just over 3 hours. Hmmm, I'll be riding hard, my evil coach has me scheduled for a beat the crap out of myself ride which basically means free for all.

This event is also a charity event which of course always brings a little extra to it. Here is the link for the full run down on what started it it.
http://torontocyclist.com/bbc/pauls/faqs.html#whois

Tomorrow is a preride of the Hardwood Fall 8 Hour course. Ben is coming out for the loop. I love the course they have laid out, it's a great section across the road that is only used for this and the Canada Cup. Lots of technical climbs, roots, and fast descents. I'll have the camera out and post a few pics tomorrow night.

Need food.

Later.